Hello fellow bloggers/stampers,

I know you haven’t seen me in a while. But life in general has kept me busy. Taxes, preparing mentally for an event in November. I’ve thought long and hard about this, and I know it’s been a pattern with me to take some breaks from my blog. But, I have to be honest, I can’t be on here everyday. I can only hope you understand. I am going on a little hiatus from now until next January from my blog.

Primarily, because the holidays are fast approaching.  This will be the first year I will not be celebrating with Dad and it is beginning to hit me. Not that we spent a lot of time together during Thanksgiving or Christmas in recent years. Circumstance regarding distance and money just didn’t allow it. But, we did talk on the phone. He always called me on my birthday (in December) and it is going to be hard this year not hearing him say the usual – “Hey kiddo how old are you this year”?  Then I tell him and he would reply, “WOW, you’re getting to be an old lady.” We would both chuckle and he would continue to poke fun at me. Funny thing is..he never really made me “feel” old.

So, Dad’s not being here is going to be tough to say the least. I’ve been making plans for Thanksgiving dinner, and thinking of Christmas in general and it’s hard not to think about Dad as well. To be perfectly honest, tears are streaming down my face as I write this to you. One sec…need a kleenex…be right back….

Whew…okay…I’m back…

I posted pics on my facebook page and I’m certain this started me thinking about him. When I was at Dad’s “Celebration of Life” in August when we all said our goodbye’s, I reconnected with family I hadn’t seen in well over 30 years, some longer. Whereas, others were not so long. But, even a couple of years can make a difference when you don’t see someone. I feel guilty for not strengthening those bonds more. And, I am ashamed to say that it is probably more my fault that theirs. I want to connect more with my family right now. I want to solidify those bonds with cousins, aunts, uncles, brothers, etc.  I feel that ever since I came back from Dad’s Celebration of Life, I’ve been on the go ever since. I’m sure I am not the only one feeling this way. But, I don’t want to keep making the same mistake I’ve made in years past. Meaning to see family for a short time and then not see them or speak to them for years. I want to keep those connections alive. I can’t do everything at once right now and I’m feeling the squeeze. And the squeeze is now more than ever for me is to keep those bonds and make them even stronger. It’s possible I will post from time to time. But, not as much as I have up to September.  I sure hope you will understand as I walk through this journey while the Lord holds my hand. Which is another thing I’ve been doing lately as well. I’ve been doing some real digging in the scriptures. I want to keep that momentum going while attending my Bible Study classes for the next 16 weeks. But, that is a whole new issue I won’t get into right now. You have been spared from my rhetoric. Therefore,  you have been blessed. LOL

It’s been tough not being able to call Dad and just chat about everything or nothing at all. I can only hope you understand why I need this time. I hope to have a fresh spirit in the New Year. One filled with new and wonderful things to share with you.  I hope you will continue to stop by from time to time? I will post when I can, but I will not be doing challenges all that much or making a number of things to share on here at this time. That takes a lot of time as some of you already know. I believe my time will be spent much better getting closer to family. Until then I’ll share these words from my heart that I will be sharing with family on Thanksgiving Day…

Be blessed in your comings and goings,

May the good Lord protect you as well.

May family and friends be near to your heart,

as you continue to make your memories grow.

Be kind to one another,

be giving to those you can,

for in the end it’s not what we have,

but what we have nourished and sown.

Written by Cherie Schmidt (10.24.09)

Thank you, God bless you and yours, and be safe during the holiday seasons.

I don’t want to say goodbye…so instead I will simply say…

Until we meet again

{{{{{warm hugs}}}}}

A04C725EE19C31F51A660FE5357AD08Esmsaz

