chocovan-butterflies-sssc17SSSC17-01I am in awe with all the creative, talented, inspirational, women  out there. What a blessing all of you are! I have been roaming the Internet checking out all I can lately. Looking for challenges and making some new friends. And, I am so grateful to have even a smidge of creativity compared to some of these women. Not that I am comparing myself to them.  Actually, I am humbled by their talents.  My hat’s off to all of you.

I wanted to share this challenge I did last night.  I always seem to find these challenges after the fact or just before the next one comes out. E gads! I wonder if I will ever get it together. HA! I can’t wait to share what I found thanks to LeAnne’s blog Wee Inklings. She stopped by to check out my Mojo Monday this week. I’m in shock I was even able to post it on Monday! 🙂

Well, naturally I just had to visit LeAnne’s blog. I was like a little kid going to a candy store, bouncing up and down on my chair thinking to myself — whatcha got? whatcha got? hmmm? Well, she has this cute photo album she made from the Top Note Die *drools*. Jonna, if you are reading this, you have GOT to check it out. You’ll love it! I can’t wait to make one of my own. *grins* So I kept digging for more goodies and where she likes to hang out.  And I found Stacey’s Jewelry challenge and of course I clicked the “here” link in the post to go see what Stacey’s blog was all about.

From Stacey’s Jewelry Challenge (she has a challenge that requires baubles and things. You know…jewelry!) I followed a link from her blog which ultimately led me to Karen Giron’s blog The Sweetest Thing which happened to be another sketch challenge. woo whoo! Okay, I’ll be honest…I’m hooked on these challenges just a wee bit.

Gotta love these challenges! Well you don’t have to. But, take it from me, it does me good to find new things to put in my sandbox to play with. hahahahaha. Okay, so enough of my jibber jabbering and silly self. On with what I did and what I used for this “sweet” challenge. I’m sorry for the photo. The days here lately have been very dreary. Lots of rain coming through. I love the rain but it makes for very dark pics. Oh well, whatcha gonna do? Be content in all things is what God says. 🙂 I’m content Lord.

I started with very vanilla. I cuttled it with two different folders and popped two black brads onto textured gold card stock collars (hard to see in the left top corner). I got this technique from Nicole Heady (Papertrey Ink).  I chose a piece of Bella Bleu DSP for my bottom layer. The gold textured paper is from Paper Adventures (Paper Al Fresco – Chiffon) and I also used this for my Fleur DE leis border (EK Success border punch).  Under the Fleur DE leis a very deep chocolate brown satin ribbon (not SU). It appears black in the photo. But, it’s not. I topped the border off with Tempting Turquoise 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon.  I used very vanilla and more of the gold textured chiffon  (it’s a shame you can’t see the chiffon paper…it’s very pretty with all the swirls) for vanilla butterfly and chocolate chip (SU card stock) for the other butterfly. I used diamond stickles on both butterflies and added a few gold brads on the right lower side. I lightly sponged the edges of the layers  under the butterflies, and stamped the sentiment at the bottom using chocolate chip. Before placing all those layers on my card I  used my window word punch to create a quasi  “bridge” for my flower/brad ensemble. It probably wasn’t necessary, but I wanted something sturdy for my flower and it sits nicely since it is exactly the same height as my entire butterfly layer.

Thank you for stopping by and have a great day!

P.S. Thank you Karen for creating another wonderful blog to challenge all of us. 🙂 Keep up the great work! I hope to do one of Stacey’s challenges soon too! Most of all a big thank you to you LeAnne! Without you taking a peek at me I wouldn’t have found you and the others. *big warm hugs*

God Bless…Saz

