mothersdayFirst I would like to apologize for not posting as often lately. I’ve had some things catch me off guard in my personal and professional life. And I decided to throw a bit more on my plate when it was suggested to me to reorganize and rearrange my studio once more. It really wasn’t working for me. Everything seemed like it was a mile away.  Clutter built up around me very quickly. But, now this has been taken care of! Yay.

This will hopefully allow me to post more often with the idea that I can be more productive once my personal life settles down too. So with that….

Have I mentioned….I LOVE! the Hostess stamp set “God’s Beauty” by Stampin Up! I wanted to make a Mother’s Day card with it. I got the chance when a neighbor man ordered 2 Mother’s Day cards and 1 anniversary card from me. He had no special instructions in terms of color, style, etc. He gave me carte blanche (complete creative control) with the creative process. Both are posted with what I did and what I used.

Here is what I did for the Mother’s Day cards. I chose to do the Color Throw Down challenge using cameo coral, sage shadow, and pink pirouette. This was a tough challenge for me. I have to be honest, I wasn’t crazy about the sage shadow color. But when used in moderation or small doses, it works just fine for me. In fact, I l-o-v-e the results.

I took the cameo coral and cuttled it using swiss dots. I cuttled the Pink Pirouette with flowers (folder name unknown) and used diamond stickles on the top portion only of my pink pirouette cuttled layer.  You can see it a little in the picture near the top right side of the card. It looks lovely in person. I used sage shadow, barely banana (eyelet scallop edge), and a piece of delicate dots DSP. I stamped all the images from the set on whisper white card stock and then colored them in with my prism pencils. After that I cut them out and layered them on the card. For the butterfly I made 2 images so I could get a 3D effect like the one I made for my MojoMonday 83. I used whisper white taffeta ribbon to complete the look.

anniversary01Here is the anniversary card I made.  I used tempting turquoise, summer sun, and going gray card stock. The swirls paper I’ve had in my stash for years. It is organic paper. I used a store bought chipboard flower and topped it with turquoise stickles after coloring it with a silver gel pen, 1 flower from the Pretties Kit and a prima paper flower (center stickled w/yellow) and flanked it with the 2 yellow prima’s (stickled w/ turquoise) as well.

The gray layer was stamped with a paisley background from clear stamp (Kraft white ink) and then stickled with turquoise and yellow on parts of the design. The “happy Anniversary” was stamped with tempting turquoise and the edge was created using a fiskar’s border punch which I also stickled using turquoise and yellow. The right-side edge on the tempting turquois was done using an EK Success border punch. I used a strip of summer sun which was cuttled and placed on the inside edge of the card to make a nice back drop for the border’s edge. That’s all I have for the moment.

TYFSB – Saz xoxox

