getwell I love the color scheme and the idea of opulence orchid on this card. Which, in the end was a flash-in-the-pan idea. I needed pop and that seemed to suit the bill. I sponged a large Pretties flower with pink pirouette (always start with your lightest color first), and then I just sponged the center with one pounce of my dauber using opulence orchid, and did the tips of the petals with my dauber loaded with more ink giving the overall flower a gradient appearance.

For the layout, I started with very vanilla that I cuttle bugged using my swirls folder. Next came a layer of kraft followed by the DSP Delicate Dots. Under the textured pink pirouette I threw in a black scallop edge. On top of the very vanilla that has the sentiment (Sentimental Sayings Stamp Set)  I inked the edges of the sentiment layer with pink pirouette and added 3 of the half pearls (2 med., one lg.) along with one brad (in the center of the flowers) from the Pretties Kit.

I wanted to use the reverse side of this particular DSP, but it didn’t seem to fit the look I was going for. I still think it needs a little something something, but I can’t quite put my finger on it.  Now that I look at it I think it could have used some swiss dots on the sentiment layer and built the sentiment up with an oval. Oh well. Hindsight is always 20/20. I’m satisfied with the overall look of the card. Could it be better? Who knows. There’s always room for improvement, right? 🙂 I topped it all off with basic black ribbon.

I am trying to get away from the Pink and Green color scheme. I think I’ve done plenty of cards lately with those colors. But, in all fairness those are my favorite when it comes to  Easter. When I saw my Easter basket as a child I would always go for the candy in the pink and green sections. Mom would almost always make up our baskets with a minimum of  3 colors (pink, green, yellow) or sometimes 4 (pink, green, yellow, and blue) with that plastic shiny  grass. Pink and green  just seemed to be the colors I gravitated towards most for my first handful of jelly beans. YUM!

untitled-1-copy

Thanks for buzz’n by to see us….

Sazzy-n-bizzy bee…xoxoxox

